All events

BJP celebrates 75 years of “Quit India Movement”

BJP celebrated the historical milestone of Indian freedom struggle, the 75th year of “Quit India Movement” at the “Balidaan Stambh” situated near the Bahu Fort area of Jammu.

State General Secretary (Org.) Ashok Koul, along with JAKFED Vice-Chairperson Munish Sharma, Party Chief Whip & MLA Rajesh Gupta, State Spokesperson S.S. Bijral, State Treasurer Chander Mohan Gupta, Social Media State Incharge Jaidev Rajwal, District Presidents Ayodhya Gupta and Baldev Singh Billawaria addressed the party leaders and activists, gathered over there to remember the golden period of the Indian Independence struggle.

Ashok Koul, while speaking on the occasion, said that Mahatma Gandhi delivered his speech that marked the beginning of Quit India Movement on August 8’1942 to call the Nation to fight for the freedom starting on August 9, 1942, which ultimately formed the basis of Indian freedom after a gap of 5 years. He appealed to the public to work for “Sankalp Se Sidhi” and take an oath to free India of terrorism, corruption, illiteracy, malnutrition, communalism, casteism and work for the achievement of “Swachh Bharat” and employment for all till 2022, at the time when India will be celebrating its 75 years of Independence from the colonial rule.

Rajesh Gupta, while addressing the gathering, said that every citizen must celebrate these occasions as festivals to incorporate the feeling of Nationalism and love for the society in the hearts of new generation. He said this is particularly important in the modern times bombarded with the materialism, so as to make the world a better place to live in.

Baldev Singh Billawaria, asked the gathering for joining the noble cause of remembering our golden history and said that BJP will never tolerate the politics on history of freedom fight.

Ayodhya Gupta, asked the BJP leaders and activists to take these activities to every booth, so that the common masses are made aware of these important events of our history.

Vinay Gupta conducted the proceedings during the programme.

Similar programmes were held at District Jammu Rural under District President Omi Khajuria, Akhnoor under Manmohan Singh, Doda by Manjeet Razdan, Poonch under Capt. Bansi Lal, Ramban under Ramesh Sharma, Bhagat Singh Chowk, Davinder Sharma Chowk, Daljit Chowk (R.S. Pura) under Brijeshwar Singh Rana, Rajouri under Dinesh Sharma, Samba under Jangbir Singh, Udhampur under Rakesh Gupta, Kathua, Hiranagar, Billawar under Premnath Dogra and Kashmir Displaced Unit under Chandji Bhat.