All events

BJP celebrates “Khel Diwas” on birth anniversary of Pt. Prem Nath Dogra

BJP Yuva Morcha Talab Tillo Mandal falling under Jammu West District, organized cricket tournament on the birth anniversary of Sher-e-Duggar Pt. Prem Dogra to celebrate it as “Khel Diwas”, in which 25 teams participated to prove their skills in the games. BJP State President & MLA Sat Sharma was the chief Guest on the occasion and District President Ayodhya Gupta and SHO Bakshi Nagar Ashwani Sharma were the guest of honour.

Sat Sharma while addressing the huge gathering, said that sports forms an essential component in overall development of young generation. While remembering, Pt. Prem Nath Dogra on the occasion of his birth anniversary, he said that, along with a great social personality, Pt. Ji was a great sports loving person as well, so BJP has decided to promote sports activities as a tribute to his good deeds. Sports not only keeps a person physically fit, but also helps in the growth of mental well being of a person, he said while patting the back of the players who participated in the final match played between the teams of Khalsa group and Josh group, which was won by the former in the cricket match played between the teams in the ground of Girls school, Bakshi Nagar.

Sat Sharma said that he will see to it that the ground is taken care of and developed, so as to promote the sports activities in the area. He attributed the lack of outdoor game facilities for the locals as the one of the reasons for lack of skill development in the sportspersons and firmed his commitment that he will leave no stone unturned for the development of the sports activities in the area. He said that he is trying out his best to provide highly specialized sports stadium in the Jammu West Constituency, so that the youth could further develop their skills in the physical activities and provide the Nation with the star players from this very area.

Cash prize of Rupees 15,000 were given to the winner team and the runner up team was given Rupees 8,000. Mobile was given as the prize to the Man of the series. Highest run getter was was given the prize of Rupees 1,000 and the prize of Rupees 500 was given for a straight six.

Prem Gupta, Karan Sharma, Puneet Mahajan, Tripta Jamwal, Rajeshwar Sharma, Samir Vohra Ravinder Singh Jamwal and others along with a large gathering were also present.