All events

BJP to organize interactive session on GST by leading CAs

BJP State unit is all set to help out traders and industrialists of the State to befriend the new tax regime, the Goods and Service Tax (GST), to keep in pace with the rest of the country in implementing the user-friendly tax regime. BJP is organizing an interactive session on the issue of GST under the guidance of BJP State President & MLA Sat Sharma with Union MoS Dr. Jitendra Singh to also grace the occasion. The time and venue of the interaction session is from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Saturday at Vaid Vishanu Dutt Sabhaghar, Dr. Shyama Prasad Mookherjee Bhawan, Trikuta Nagar, Jammu.

A decision in this regard was taken in a meeting held under State President & MLA Sat Sharma, alongwith State General Secretaries Dr. Narinder Singh and Harinder Gupta.

An official handout released by the party said that prominent businessmen and the industrialists of the region are participating in the session to seek answers for their queries and clear the doubts. Their queries will be answered by the eminent Chartered Accountants (CAs) who shall try to answer all the questions put by the attendees. This will help out in easy shift of their respective businesses to the new tax regime.

Pertinent to mention here, GST is the first major tax reform since Independence of India and a major step towards the “One Nation, One Tax, One Market”. GST adopted by whole of India now, subsumes Central indirect taxes like Excise Duty, Countervailing Duty and Service Tax, as also state levies like Value Added Tax, Octroi and Entry Tax. The implementation of the tax is good and simple. It benefits not only the consumers but also the industrialists and traders. The common perception that it requires higher degree of IT skills (Computer knowledge) to switch over to the new tax regime is also not correct.

GST is also set to increase the revenues of the State Government as well as Central Government as the tax compliance will increase among all sections of the society as well as decreasing the tax avoidance or theft at different levels.

The meeting was attended by Parmodh Kapahi, Sanjay Baru, Arun Gupta, S. Varinderjit Singh, Rakesh Mahajan, Arvind Gupta, Baldev Singh Billawaria, Ayodhya Gupta, K.B. Mohtra, Deepak Kapahi, Jugal Gupta.