All events


Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways Sh Nitin Gadkari and Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh met here to discuss the status of the two newly approved National Highways, namely the 170 km Basohli-Bhaderwah-Doda Highway through Chhattergala tunnel and Thathri-Kahaljugssar-Kilothran-Mankan-Chochool to Himachal Pradesh Highway via tunnel respectively, linking the erstwhile district Doda and decided to insist upon the Central as well as the State Government authorities to expedite the work on these two important projects. MLA Bhaderwah, Dilip Singh Parihar was also present during the meeting.

Pertinent to mention that the Basohli-Bhaderwah-Doda Highway was approved by the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways (RTH) last year and includes landmark Chattergalla tunnel which is expected to cost over Rs. 3,500 crore. The 6.2 km long Chattergalla tunnel will save the travel distance from Doda to Basohli and Lakhanpur by over 26 kms and also reduce the travel time by over two hours. Not only this, this Highway, through the Chattergalla tunnel, will provide all-weather road connectivity as well as an alternative road transport option.The second National Highway linking Thatri-Kahaljugssar-Kilotran Makan-Chochool to Himachal Pradesh via tunnel was approved on the eve of Holi festival this year. This project will be 100% funded by the Centre and provide an easy and convenient direct connectivity between district Doda and Himachal Pradesh.
Dr Jitendra Singh, while thanking Sh Nitin Gadkari for his magnanimous support to all the road and bridge projects in Jammu & Kashmir, said that the two National Highways linking district Doda may take quite a few years to complete, but after completion, these will prove to be game-changers from the point of view of revenue generation, trade promotion and job generation. He said, for himself personally, this will be a cherished memory for all times to come that the approval and initiation for these two path-breaking projects was accomplished during his Parliamentary term as Member of Lok Sabha from this area.