All events

Sh. Vibodh Gupta said that authorities have reserved 80 % of seats in Doongi Block

80% Panchayat halqas can’t be reserved

Demand re-looking of reservation criteria of Panchayat election in Doongi block

Demanding re-look on reservation of Panchayat halqas, Member Legislative Council & Senior BJP leader Advocate Vibodh Gupta said that authorities have reserved 80 % of seats in Doongi Block which is injustice to the people of the area.

Deputation led by Ex-Sarpanchs and Ex-Naib Sarpanchs of Doongi block of Rajouri district called upon MLC and apprised him about the reservation criteria adopted by the authorities in the area where authorities have reserved 15 seats out of 18 Panchayat Halqas. The locals demanded MLC to take up the matter with higher authorities and demanded de-reserving of seats in the area.

Expressing serious concern over the issue, Advocate Vibodh Gupta said that the matter is genuinely a serious as 80% reservation is no justice to majority people of the area. He said that the reservation should be according to the criteria fixed. He said that women, SC or ST must deserved for reservation in Panchayat elections but it should not violate the criteria.

Demanding re-looking the reserved seats, Vibodh said that since the locals have shown serious concern over this reservation, it must be re-looked by de-reserving some seats in the area. He said that 15 seats cannot be reserved among 18 seats as the same is against the rules. He added that he will take up the matter with Government and sort out the problem.

The MLC said that Government want to hold free and fair Panchayat elections in the state to establish local panchayat government by devolution of powers in the hands of village representatives and Government is committed for overall development of all the communities. He said that any error can be rectified and they will look into it and rectify the error if any while reserving any seat in Doongi block.

Members of the deputation included Ex-Sarpanch Raj kumar,Ex-Sarpanch Vinod kumar,Ex-Sarpanch Susheel kumar,Ex-Sarpanch Sarfaraz khan,Ex-Sarpanch Yashpal sharma,Ex-Naib Sarpanch Rayasat khan,Ex-Naib Sarpanch Fareed Ahmed,Ex-Chairman Doongi panchayat Pt.Suresh Kumar,Ex-Naib Sarpanch Ashok Bamba