All events

26 Oct day should be declared as a State Government holiday in Jammu and Kashmir

BJP Kashmir celebrates Oct. 26 Accession Day as Festival.

Bharataiya Janata Party (BJP) Kashmir on Wednesday celebrated October 26, as Accession Day and in this regard a function was held at party office, Jawahar Nagar here.

Terming the Kashmir as an integral part of India, State Vice President Dr. Darakshan Andrabi on this occasion said that October 26, 1947, the then ruler of the state, Maharaja Hari Singh, had signed the Instrument of Accession to make Kashmir part of India. “The Kashmir issue was settled permentally in 1947, after its ruler signed the Instrument of Accession to make Kashmir part of India,” Dr. Andrabi Said.

On this occasion senior leader and Ex- state Vice President G.M Mir said, while emphasizing on the importance of this historical day, this day the people of J&K through its Prince Shri Hari Singh signed the instrument of Accession of J&K with union of India keeping in view of the highest values of secularism and democracy. The said accession was ratified by the then popular leader of J&K Late Sheri- Kashmir Sheikh Mohd. Abdullah thereby rejecting the two nation theory.

The fate of people of J&K was linked with the Indian democracy. Today we celebrate this auspicious accession throughout the country in general and state of J&K in particular. We the people of the J&K has firm belief over the Indian democracy and secular nation and we shall continue to enjoy this in the future too.

We believe the accession as final.

State Media Secretary/Media Incharge Kashmir Altaf Thakur demanded that the day should be declared as a State Government holiday in Jammu and Kashmir. “We want to celebrate it as Accession Day every year. The day should be commemorated like other national holidays. The date bears great significance for all nationalist people,” Thakur said, adding, BJP celebrates the day as a festival.

“We are proud to be the part of the world’s largest democracy,” Thakur said.

Present on this occasion were State Publicity Secretary Dr. Ali Mohd Mir, Mohd Ashraf Azad District Prabhari Pulwama, Mohd Ashraf Reshi District Prabhari Bandipora, Mohd Tahir Mir Office Incharge Kashmir, District Gen. Secretary Srinagar/Protocol Incharge Kashmir Arif Raja, District President Srinagar Fayaz Ahmad Bhat, Vice President Srinagar Ashok Bhat, Vice president Srinagar Molvi Tariq, Senior leader Dr Mohd Hussain and constituency presidents of District Srinagar and others .