All events

BJP holds interactive session with traders on GST

BJP Professional Cell held an exhaustive interactive session on the subject matter of Goods and Services Tax (GST) at its State Head Quarters, Trikuta Nagar, Jammu with prominent traders, manufacturers, Tax consultants, Chartered Accountants and members of civil society. The session was graced by BJP State President & MLA Sat Sharma along with Union MoS PMO Dr. Jitendra Singh, Speaker J&K Legislative Assembly Kavinder Gupta, Party Chief Whip & MLA Rajesh Gupta and State General Secretaries Harinder Gupta and Pawan Khajuria, All Cells Incharge Varinderjit Singh, Trader Cell Convenor Kulbhushan Mohtra along with Central Excise Commissioner Gian Sagar, Vijay Mohan Jain and CAs Deepak Kapahi, Anil Sharma, Jitesh Arora and Lalit Gupta.

Proceedings started with the lighting of the traditional lamp by the dignitaries present on the dais and the introduction of the resource persons for various sessions.

Sat Sharma in his address at the session said that the party at the national level has decided to hold informative and interactive session with various stake holders of the Indian economy in the length and breadth of the country, so that various apprehensions and misgivings as also ignorance about GST is removed from the mind of the public. He said that the introduction of GST in the entire country is to simplify the tax collection procedure and reduce the paper work of the traders. The GST does away with the multiple tax system at various stages of goods from manufacturing to the consuming stage. Only one tax shall be levied which shall be shared equally with the state from where the tax has been received and this will be a great boon to Jammu and Kashmir state as it is a consuming state. GST sets the national economic trajectory towards uniformity and integration.

Gian Sagar, while addressing the gathering congratulated the people of the State on becoming a part of the historical national moment on the 8th of July. He also credited the Union Minister Arun Jaitely for his legal acumen and dedicated effort on the subject for successfully bringing about the epochal tax reform. He termed the GST as good and simple tax which does away with multiple tax system giving great impetus to the nationally economic and well being of the public.

Deepak Kapahi Convenor CA Cell, Anil Sharma Co-Convenor CA Cell Jitesh Arora and Lalit Gupta Chartered Accountant highlighted the various facets of the GST and cleared many cobwebs of confusion, misinformation and ignorance of the new tax setup. The participants put many questions to these Chartered Accountants on various issues. During this session, Dr. Jitendra Singh MoS PMO and Central Excise Commissioner Gian Sagar and his assistant also clarified many points. The information given out by the Deepak Kapahi, Anil Sharma Jitesh Arora and Lalit Gupta was extremely informative and the nature of the questions put them by the members of the audience indicated that this interactive session had been well received and was of immense benefit.

Dr. Jitendra Singh in his address said that the introduction of GST in the country marks the dawn of a genuine federal economy. The introduction of GST should not be seen in a narrow compass of tax system but must be appreciated in the broader perspective of emerging new India. The GST shall result in uniform tax on every taxed commodity and doing away with the different tax rates in different parts of the country. The introduction of the GST during the midnight of June-July was symbolic of the midnight of 14th -15th August 1947 when attained the freedom from Britain. He assured the participants at the session that all the points that have been raised by them during the session shall be duly considered by the GST Council at the national level and wherever and whatever is possible would be done.

Harinder Gupta carried the proceedings of the stage during the programme.

Karan Singh, Bharat Bhushan (Ex-MLA), Er. Ghulam Ali Khatana, Sanjay Baru, S. S. Bijral, Brig. Anil Gupta, Rachpal Verma, Balbir Ram Rattan, Jugal Kishore Gupta, Rachpal Singh, Suraj Singh, Parduman Singh, Lalit Moza, Ayodhya Gupta, Baldev Singh Billawaria, Dr. Pardeep Mahotra were among the important persons present during the session.