All events

Sat Sharma launches pulse polio immunization programmes at Government Hospital Sarwal

BJP State President and MLA Jammu West Sat Sharma (CA) launched the pulse polio programme for 2017 at Government Hospital Sarwal by administering polio drops to children aged below five years on the occasion of National Immunization Day. He was also accompanied by Medical Superintendent of the Hospital, Parents of the children, local residents and political activists of the area. Pertinent to mention, the drive is an effort to maintain the country’s ‘polio-free’ status.

Speaking on the occasion, Sat Sharma said that the dangerous disease still persists and its importation is done form many parts of the world including Pakistan, Afghanistan and Nigeria and the masses must be cautioned about the dangerous effects of such type of diseases in infants.

He said that several new vaccines have been introduced by the Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare in this regard and it is efforts of the Narendra Modi led Central Government that such vaccines are being produced so that the upcoming generations are cared under best supervision of the Health department.

He also stated that the mortality rate in infants(Under 5) has decreased so much in the past two years and ‘polio-free’ certification given by World Health Organization (WHO) to the entire South East Asia region is a great achievement in the history of public health and introduction of new vaccine By Cnetral Government namely “Rotavirus” virus vaccine under Universal Immunization programme and other vaccines like “Inactivated Polio Vaccine” and “Mission Indradhanush” are also a great accomplishment in this regard.

He also appreciated the efforts of the Hospital Administartion and volunteers for working tirelessly in keeping their area polio-free.

Dr Renu Sharma MS Sarwal Hospital, Dr Ravinder Singh Pulse Polio vaccine Incharge Jammu, CMO Dr Robinder Khajuria, BJP Vice President Parmod Kapahi, Ayodhya Gupta, Dr Balwinder singh, Sanjeev Sharma, Rakesh Mahajan, Dr MAdhuri, Dinesh Maini, Amrik singh Chib, Dinesh Gupta, Rajesh Bali, Samir Vohra, Ankush Sharma and many other prominent citizens of the society were also present on the occasion.